Shhhhh …

22 01 2010

Did I tell you I tried raw milk?

It was good.  Really good.  In fact, I’d agree with what I’d previously read about it:  that it was an entirely different substance than the homogenized, ultrapasteurized stuff I buy in the grocery store all winter long (spring through fall I prefer to buy milk at farmers’ markets when I can).

Before I go any further, I’d like to state for the record that my mother grew up on a farm where her mother set before her “fresh” milk for breakfast from time to time, milk that had been acquired directly and recently from the cows out back.  And she HATED it.  She says she still has nightmares about its warm temperature and the big globules of fat that sat right on top.  So, let’s just say I’m not being romantic about this, and I don’t think I’ve climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro here with my tasting of this substance …  The facts remain:  (1) the sale of raw milk is illegal at present in the state of Virginia; (2) I was gifted some milk, which Masher and I drank; and (3) it was good.  Really good.

Will I continue to acquire and drink said raw milk?  I don’t know.  I’m not sure I’m ready to deal with the hassle of getting the stuff, and I think the milk I buy at the farmers’ market or MOM’s tastes a lot better than the standard grocery store brands, so I’m guessing I probably won’t.  But if I’ve learned one thing in life, it’s never say never.  Maybe we’re about to see a lactorevolution …  Maybe we’ll realize that drinking raw milk that has been handled properly is no different than eating a rare steak or some delicious sushi …  Or maybe not.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

