Sweet Potato Oven Fries

6 01 2010

Who cares if they’re not crispy?  Maybe some cooks can make it happen, but I think I’ve tried every method imaginable, and I can’t make my sweet potato oven fries crispy.  Honestly, I think my real problem is that I love them so much that I have to make them in very large batches, or it’s not worth it, and when the oven has too many fries in it, humidity reigns and the fries are doomed to slight sogginess.  But whatever.  They taste great.  And they’re so easy!  Here’s what you do:

Heat the oven to 425.  Wash and cut some sweet potatoes into wedges (I leave the skin on even though Masher pulls it off; I like it!).  Toss them in a big bowl with a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper, and any other spices you might like (e.g., cumin, cayenne, oregano).  Lay them out on a baking tray (or two or three), making sure they don’t overlap and there is space between them.  Bake for about 20 minutes, turning at least once, then turn the oven down to 250 and continue baking for another 20 minutes.  (This last bit is an attempt to dry them out and crisp them up a bit more!)  Sometimes, I sprinkle with a bit of salt when they come out if they still need some.  And eat ’em while they’re hot!  (Although they’re not bad cold, and even fine reheated the next day.)  These are a perfect accompaniment to a meal of black beans and rice since they’re sweet like plantains.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 01 2010
Rob

When I make my oven sweet potato fries I usually crisp them up by putting them in the broiler for a minute or two on each side after the time in the oven. My favorite addition to a meal and an incredible snack!

26 01 2010
drinkofwater

Hm, good idea, and I will definitely try it next time!

Leave a Reply

