Crackin’

12 07 2009

I’m in the midst of making some homemade crackers as I type …  Well, you’ve got to have some kind of activity to turn to between batches, right?  A friend turned me on to this cracker recipe at homemadebabyfood.com, which I was about to try out when I realized that I didn’t have any wheat germ and that I DID have a big bowl of cooked quinoa in the fridge that needed using.  Okay, so, quinoa crackers, why not?  So far, things seems to be going pretty well, although I’m finding that I can’t get the dough quite as thin as a cracker dough would be–due to the width of the quinoa grains and their reduced ability to stick together–which means that my cooking times are much longer than those in the linked recipe.  Nevertheless, I think I’m going to be able to achieve a crunch …  We shall see …  

UPDATE:  So, the crackers actually weren’t too bad, but they did end up a bit tough, and they took forever to cook, probably because “cooking” was essentially baking the water OUT of the quinoa.  I liked ’em, but my dad thought I was trying to poison him when he bit down on one that had mistakenly fallen into his handful of Triscuits.  Oh, well, maybe I’ll try the real Wheat Thins recipe next time.

DSC_0005

Actions

Information

One response

4 08 2009
I Am What I Am « Drink of Water

[…] came my new cracker friend to the rescue.  Spinach pancakes.  And we’re not talking about Aunt Jemima pancakes with a […]

Leave a Reply

