A Day in the Life of Masher’s Stomach, Take One

25 03 2009

As though you thought my blogging couldn’t get much worse, I’ve decided to make a list of what Masher ate today. I’m sure there are plenty of interesting food-and-baby-related articles out there in the world on which I could comment, but I really don’t have the time or energy to look for them before I hit the sack. And I’m positive that there are some funny food-related stories about Masher I could tell, but I sure can’t think of them right now. And I know for a fact that there are some super-cute photos of Masher eating green beans by the handful over there in my digital camera, but we just got a new computer, and I’m not ready to tackle a foreign photo-organizing program. And heck, I thought this might be SOMEWHAT interesting … A random day of food.

First, the small print: I did not decide until halfway through the day that I would do this, so I did not prepare in advance. This is simply one example of day in the life of Masher’s stomach. And the rest of his digestive tract.

  • 5:45 a.m. – Masher nursed when he woke up, which was abnormally early due to teething and a cold … Ugh.
  • 7:00 a.m. – We all had some blueberry pancakes with maple syrup (the real stuff) for breakfast.  I keep meaning to mix extra dry ingredients together so that I always have homemade pancake mix on hand, but I always forget and only make enough for one batch.  I guess that’s actually probably a good thing for our waistlines.  Masher ate one silver-dollar-sized pancake, then proceeded to get grumpier and grumpier until it was time for an emergency morning nap to make up for his early awakening.
  • 10:00 a.m. – Since the poor guy was suffering, I nursed him again when he woke up from his nap, and he had another leftover pancake at the doctor’s office where I had to rush with him immediately afterwards.
  • 11:30 a.m. – We had lunch back at home, which for Masher meant about 3 oz of leftover chicken I had broiled a couple of days prior, a small handful of cheese melted on top, and a handful of grapes.
  • 2:00 p.m. – When Masher woke up from his nap, he nursed a third and final time.
  • 2:30 p.m. – Our neighbor gave Masher a few Melba toasts, which he gobbled up like a starving man, so I took him home to eat …
  • 3:00 p.m. – A piece of toast with some blueberry applesauce.
  • 5:00 p.m. – For dinner Masher had another 4 oz or so of chicken along with about a cup of cooked broccoli.
  • 6:30 p.m. – A bedtime snack is not usually part of our routine, but Masher was hungry for yogurt and ate about a cupful.

And there it is.  Unadulterated.  Uncut.  Kind of a protein-heavy day today, but it is what it is.  We go with it.

Actions

Information

One response

1 04 2009
Nancy

Hi, Tricia! sorry it took so very long for me to respond to your comment on my blog. So I thought I’d pop in and visit here, as I do from time to time.

I also think “I should mix my own dry ingredients for pancakes and keep it in the pantry” but somehow I never quite get around to it. What I do instead is make a double batch and freeze the extra. Well, most of the time anyway. 🙂

***wave***

Leave a Reply

