Baby Food for Me

23 01 2009

Yep, that’s right. I’ve taken this baby food thing so far that now I’m making myself baby food for dinner. And it’s GOOD.  

It all started when Josh gave me a new cookbook for Christmas, Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything.  I was skeptical, not because I doubt that Mr. Bittman knows how to cook everything, but because, frankly, I’m kinda over cookbooks.  We’re in the Internet age, man!  I have three bookshelves of cookbooks gathering dust, but who cares?  I just type the contents into Google, and out come recipes for the ingredients I have!  It’s like a reverse cookbook:  shop first, then decide what to make.  But (to borrow from the woman who I’m happy is not our new VP) I’m not one of those who maybe came from a background of, you know, kids who perhaps graduate college and their parents give them a passport and give them a backpack and say go off and travel the world.  So what I’m saying is that I don’t like to let things go to waste.  Josh bought me a cookbook; I will make use of it.

Masher lovin' him some beet soup.

Masher lovin' him some beet soup.

And here is where my determination to use the cookbook runs headlong into my interest in presenting myself with a real food challenge:  beets.  Yes, beets, those icky-sweet, slimy tubers whose dark red bitter stain oozes into everything else on your plate.  Not a fan.  

In the past few years, however, I have been more willing to accept the presence of the beet on or near my dinner … as long as it is an actual fresh beet, not the canned version.  So, the challenge I devised for myself was to make a beet soup … and to like it.  Surely a book about cooking everything would have a recipe for beet soup?  Indeed it did, and it looked very simple — bonus!  Some butter, shallots, potatoes, beets, and chicken or vegetable stock or broth … and not much time involved in cooking before I spun our new immersion blender (Yay for this, BTW!) around the pot and served up some hot, red, and ultra-delicious beet soup.  What’s more, I realized, all I had to do to make this edible (and healthy) for Mason was to set some aside before I salted it to our taste.  And that was the beginning …  Since then, we’ve had butternut squash, tomato, and (tonight) sweet potato soup, all basically made the same way, and all essentially baby food.  Am I regressing?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

