What’s Masher Eating Now? (The Veggie Edition)

8 01 2009

Wow, 15 days away from being one year old.  We’re counting down …  And in the meantime, Masher continues to eat well, surpassing all expectations by downing half a bag of frozen green beans (well cooked, of course) for lunch a few days ago, followed by most of a piece of Ezekiel 4:9 toast with almond butter on it.  He loves them green beans!  And what other veggies does he love, you may ask?

Asparagus
Beets (LOVES them … as do I, after hating them most of my life … we made and enjoyed a scrumptious beet and potato soup on New Year’s Eve)
Broccoli
Butter beans
Carrots
Cauliflower
Celery (as an ingredient in soups and stews)
Corn
Eggplant (roasted whole or pureed as a dip)
Garlic (and I use a LOT of it, especially in eggplant or bean dips!)
Green beans
Greens, such as kale, collard greens, chard, and spinach (I serve these warm and pureed, often mixed with a bit of plain yogurt; he eats them like there’s no tomorrow)
Kombu (a type of seaweed you can add to beans for better texture and … um … digestibility, to put it politely)
Lettuce (didn’t know what to do with it)
Mushrooms
Onions (seemed to give him a bit of rash the first time he ate something containing them, but it hasn’t developed into a problem)
Parsnips
Peas
Peppers (as far as I can remember, he has only consumed bell and jalapeno peppers IN food, not on their own)
Potatoes (sweet and regular) and yams
Squash (yellow, butternut, zucchini, pumpkin)
Tomato
Turnips

Not bad, although it seems as though we have quite a ways to go if we were to tackle EVERY vegetable!

I feel as though Masher is pretty well-rounded on the vegetable front, and I try to make sure he eats something green every day, which is relatively easy since we usually have something green on the table ourselves.  The problem comes when OUR green thing is a salad since raw vegetables are not really his thing, considering he only owns eight teeth.  And in those cases, it’s usually time to check out the freezer.  I keep bags of organic frozen broccoli, spinach, green beans, and asparagus, which are easy to pop into a pot and steam up for him on the fly.  And I also have pre-portioned (in a silicone muffin pan) blobs of pureed greens, like kale, which is SOOOOOO good for you!  In the winter, we like to roast a lot of veggies–especially sweet potatoes, cauliflower, eggplant, and turnips–with a touch of olive oil and some spices, so there’s usually a bowl of those leftovers in the fridge as well.  Honestly, nothing beats a spicy roasted sweet potato bite dipped into some plain yogurt … absolutely delicious.

Writing that last sentence reminds me once more about how much my own eating habits have changed throughout my life.  I used to gag at the sight of something green on my plate.  A friend, and anti-veggie person, came over recently for dinner.  I had planned a meat-heavy meal especially for him but at the last minute decided to add a sweet potato to the pot where I was boiling water for mashed potatoes.  “What’s this orange color in the potatoes?” he asked, after his wife had just finished telling us how much he loved mashed potatoes.  He didn’t take a single bite when I told him what it was.  And–here’s the thing–it didn’t offend or surprise me.  I understand veggie phobias, having suffered from them myself.  And that’s probably part of what makes me so happy when I make and eat beet soup, roasted eggplant and turnips, or cauliflower and potato curry … not because I’m forcing myself to eat what’s healthy but because it’s truly GOOD.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

